Grinding to Valhalla

Interviewing the gamer with a thousand faces

Joshua

Posted by Randolph Carter on April 20, 2009

MMO community connection:
`

Chapter 1: Introduction

What is your name (your online persona/alter-ego, what have you)?

My name is Joshua Treece, and I’ve gone by a few online alter egos. In WoW, I went as Zesius / Westsiide and I conducted myself as some form of MMO hipster. In FFXI, I played a Samurai named, simply “Josh” and played as a bleeding heart. In Warhammer Online, my current game of choice, I play as Chlor / Attorney and generally play 70% PvP 30% PvE; I’m generally silent in-game, but quite vocal on my blog.

What is your connection to the gaming/blogging/podcasting community (your chance to plug yourself here)?

I’m the owner / administrator / sole content author of The Casual WAR. I’ve been doing that since late February 2009. I joined up during the Age of Blogging campaign.

Please take a minute and describe what your blog/podcast is about.

My blog is called the Casual WAR due to the fact that my blog portrays my experiences in WAR as a casual gamer. I also use the blog to post gripes with the game, and also other relevant, not necessarily game-related content.

Where were you born? Where did you grow up?

I was born in Lancaster, Pennsylvania and I grew up in Saxton, Pennsylvania. So, really, I hail from farmtown, USA.

Where do you live now?

Mechanicsburg, PA.

Your level (age) is somewhere in the range of (pick one): 10-20, 21-30, 31-40, 41-50, 51-60, 61-70, 71-80, 81-90

21-30

What do you do for a living?

I’m currently a student preparing for law school.

If you could reroll your career, what would you be?

I would probably go back to managing specialty retail stores.

List five random things most people don’t know about you?

  • I love cats.
  • I love to write.
  • I don’t like reading.
  • I’m narcissistic.
  • I’m an anime addict (though I hide it).

Feel free to discuss any family you have here.

I’m getting married this summer and I currently have two cats, Mila and Otis.

Leave a comment