Grinding to Valhalla

Interviewing the gamer with a thousand faces

Grinding to Valhalla: Year one

Posted by Randolph Carter on February 19, 2010

Grinding to Valhalla is one year old today. Over the past year I managed to pester quite a few people with countless questions. In fact, I was able to interview 88 bloggers and podcasters, 67 authors of both fiction and nonfiction, and 11 game industry professionals.  I enjoyed myself quite a bit.

The year ahead

During this next year I hope to mix things up a bit by intermittently posting some of my own personal observations on games and books. I’m a casual game player (and reader, for that matter), but I do enjoy thinking and talking about what I’m up to in these realms. I’m certainly not turning my back on interviews, it’s just that over the past year I’ve found myself writing more and more posts of this more personal variety, setting them to draft, and then putting them aside not knowing what to do with them. I felt the start of a new year would be as good a place as any to start subjecting these on you.  Lucky you.

Gone but not forgotten

One of the other things I’d like to start doing is interviews with people who once blogged but for whatever reason have hung up their keyboards. Sort of a ‘where are they now?’ and exit interview combined.  I’m not sure really what could come out of this, but I think it might make for some interesting exploration. I would ask those of you who have been around the blogging community for a while to let me know of anyone you think would make for a prime candidate and I’d be happy to try and hunt them down.

Feedback

I welcome any comments or suggestions you might have.  If there are any people you’d like to see interviewed, please let me know. I’m always looking for more people to interview.

Who really knows what year number two will bring? Certainly not me.  Here’s to the year ahead.  Hope you’ll stop by from time to time to see how it’s going.

Feel free to drop me a note at grindingtovalhalla@gmail.com.

Take care,

RC

Leave a Reply

 
