Grinding to Valhalla

Interviewing the gamer with a thousand faces

Sister Frances (Chapter 4)

Posted by Randolph Carter on July 8, 2009

MMO community connection:

No Prisoners No Mercy

Chapter 4: Preferences

At your peak, how much time per week would you say you spent gaming? How about now?

I used to play about 20 hours a week. Now I think I’m down to about 7 or 8 hours a week…it depends. Some weeks I spend way more than others because of the weather. If it’s nice out, I’m going to be in the garden/yard, if it’s horrible out, I’ll be inside gaming.

When during the week are your regular play times?

I play mostly at night, after Sr. Julie gets home. I just feel like that is my “relax” time.

Generally speaking, are you more of a social creature in MMOs (grouping to quest, joining guilds, etc.) or something of a lone wolf?

I do a little of both. When I was leveling up Feathana, it was 95% alone. Once I discovered instances, then I became much more social. I joined a WHOLE bunch of guilds with dismal failure (another topic of our early podcasts). But now I’m in a guild I like, and they seem to like me. I’m more social now than I used to be.

Have you made any lasting friendships through your MMO experience? Please explain.

Just with Sister Julie!🙂 She’s the only one who has lasted the whole 4-5 years!!

Before logging into a game, do you already have a course of action planned out in your head, or do you just sort of do whatever you feel like once in game?

I mostly just do what I feel like once I’m in game. I might see in guild chat for instance, that someone is looking for Group for an instance, and if it’s one that I want to do, I’ll group up with them and do that. I’ve found though, that I get ignored a lot if I’m the one asking…I must have B.O.! lol

When playing MMOs do you tend to just play one at a time or do you take more of the smorgasbord approach?

I like sticking to one game…that is until I get so incredibly bored with the one game that I go to others. It’s sort of happening now with WoW…I’m getting bored.

Do you tend to supplement your MMO gaming with other PC, console or tabletop games?

I don’t have the time. One game is more than I can handle in terms of time committment.

Are you something of an altoholic?

LOL…in Warhammer, I had like 20 toons!! so, yes, there you could say Im an “alt” aholic!!! (and to comment re Sr. Julies comment below…no SHE is most definitely NOT an altaholic!!! she does ONE toon…till the bitter end!!!)

Do you find yourself multitasking while gaming (perhaps watching TV, talking on the phone, out of game instant messaging, playing another game, or even listening to a podcast)?

I used to play paper dolls…where we would actually draw and cut out our own dolls and paper outfits to go on top of them. Some of them got really elaborate with glitter and sequins…it was fun. The other activity I did a lot was what I call “building things”. I used to take things apart and build other things with the parts. For instance, I took apart many pairs of those old metal roller skates, the kind you had to have a “key” to tighten onto your foot..I would take those apart, and make “scooters” with the wheels. My friend and I would play for just hours riding/sitting on our scooters, being pulled by a jumprope through the back end of a bike! It was pretty funny.

Do you find yourself having much MMO discussion off-line, perhaps with friends or family?

Well, because we do a podcast about gaming…yes I do! Sometimes we talk for just a few minutes about it, to hours….it depends on what’s going on.

Have you ever felt that you game too much? If so, how did you cope with that?

Sure. When I was first playing WoW…and playing 20 hours a week or more…that was WAY too much! But at the time, I was caring for my sick, elderly mom, and I had NO outlet other than that, so that’s how I coped. When I got tired of getting treated bad, I’d go sit and watch endless hours of TV with mom, when I got sick of TV I’d go play endless hours of WoW…it was a vicious cycle!

Since you started playing MMOs, have you ever taken a break from the genre? If so, please explain.

I do take breaks when the people online get insane, like they did at level 70 endgame. They are starting to get that bad again at level 80! So, like I said earlier…CAN’T WAIT FOR STAR TREK ONLINE!!!

Leave a Reply

 
