Grinding to Valhalla

Interviewing the gamer with a thousand faces

Sister Julie (Chapter 3)

Posted by Randolph Carter on July 6, 2009

MMO community connection:

No Prisoners No Mercy

Chapter 3: Online

Were you ever exposed to MUDs?

The last time I was exposed to MUD was a long time ago when someone threw it at me. I grabbed them by the collar…it went on from there. I did, however, play a text based game called “Zork” as well as a space based 2-d game on the large computers at a particular university which, as they say, “shall remain nameless”. It was always late at night – back when the only screens where “amber” screens and there was no such thing as a Playstation.

What was your first MMO experience?

Again with the year questions – the only reason I remember my own name is that my cohost shouts it at me all day long. I do remember the first mmo I ever played, however. That game was called “Ultima Online”. There were many interesting aspects that set Ultima Online apart from any other game, not the least of which was that player housing was not instanced. The result was a virtual megalopolis necessitating dodging between the allies and avenues created by player housing as one tried to traverse the landscape.

If possible, list all the MMOs you’ve played extensively.

List my main by class and level for each game? You have got to be kidding – is this a questionnaire or a memory test? Do I get graded afterwards? Some of the games I have played are Everquest 1, Everquest 2, Ultima Online, World of Warcraft, Age of Conan, Voyage Century, Warhammer Online, and Lord of the Rings Online – there may be others but at the moment my mind is still reeling from the “by class and level” part of the question…I think I need coffee now.

What is your current MMO of choice, or perhaps, what are your current MMOs of choice?

My current mmo of choice, if Cryptic ever finishes with it (thank goodness it was resurrected) is Star Trek Online. I would love to try Aion but alas neither I nor my co-host were invited to the beta. There are a few mmos that seem to follow me around like a lost puppy: World of Warcraft, Eve Online (yawn), Warhammer Online, and Lord of the Rings Online.

Which MMO have you spent the most time playing? How long would you say that has been?

Ah here you must be more specific – the most time playing when actual months or years the subscription remains active is concerned? The most time actually playing the game? That one would be difficult as I would have had to keep a log of the playing time.

Have you reached level cap in any MMO? If so, which ones?

Again with the memory questions – you really do believe in taxing this middle aged broad’s memory don’t you? I seem to recall reaching the level cap a few times in several games but the problem with mmos is they keep moving the damn things. It’s so hard to keep up. I like the concept of Eve Online…no level cap. How about Ultima Online? That doesn’t even have a levels.

Loki taps you on the shoulder one day to inform you that you have fallen victim to one of his elaborate pranks. The world you’ve been inhabiting of countless MMOs to choose from and play has merely been a dream. In reality only one MMO exists. After laughing at you for a bit he decides to take pity on you and allows you to choose which MMO will remain. Which one would you choose and why?

My first reaction would be to wonder who had slipped what hallucinogenic drug into my food since I am, supposedly, conversing with a mythological being. Beyond that, I recall the furor that Richard Bartle caused when he said that if he had the ability he would get rid of World of Warcraft. That being the case I would tell Loki to get rid of whatever game Richard Bartle is currently playing – that will teach him.

Are there any MMOs currently in development that you are particularly interested in? Please explain.

I am very interested in Star Trek Online. Why? Hells bells man, that’s simple – IT’S STAR TREK!!!

Feel free to share an interesting or amusing anecdote related to your MMO gaming experience.

There is no antidote to gaming…once you have played an mmo you’re hooked.

3 Responses to “Sister Julie (Chapter 3)”

  1. >I would tell Loki to get rid of whatever game Richard Bartle is currently playing – that will teach him.

    Actually, I’m playing WoW right now so I win either way.

    Richard

  2. “Actually, I’m playing WoW right now so I win either way.” – Richard

    First Reaction: HAHAHAHAHAHAHAH – too funny

    Second Reaction: I do understand why Dr. Bartle said he would get rid of WoW, and in seriousness I often find myself agreeing – especially of late – if not always for the same reasons. In many ways WoW does hold developers back. Investors sometimes expect to make the same profits and developers feel they have to use the same game mechanics in order for their game to be a success. And if I hear or read the words “WoW Clone” as a knee jerk reaction to a game, especially a game in beta phase, one more time I am going to lose it.

    Oh wait…I already did.

    Which is why I wrote about it on Virgin Worlds three times, once just recently.

    Julie

  3. […] an interesting side note, I had the privilege of being interviewed for the Grinding to Valhalla Project . One of the questions I was asked was, if there was only one mmo in the world, which one would I […]

Leave a Reply

 
