Grinding to Valhalla

Interviewing the gamer with a thousand faces

Andras (Chapter 5)

Posted by Randolph Carter on July 1, 2009

MMO community connection:

Free Play Podcast

Chapter 5:  Podcasting

When did you first start podcasting?

I first started podcasting with Riknas with a show called Behind The Front Lines, which was for the late Tabula Rasa (may it rest in peace). The show was fun, but a bit difficult considering the game was hardly dynamic enough to warrant its own podcast, and a lot of what we did was merely reading some news and sharing our opinions about it. We did get to interview the community manager which was pretty fun.

After leaving that (me because my computer could not even run the came which I was podcasting about) there was a while that we didn’t do anything, and we felt the need to. We through some ideas around with reviewing things, and reviewing MMOs, and reviewing things on an incredibly cheap budget, and F2P MMOs seemed like an obvious choice. We started the blog on gax online alternating reviewing games in textual form, and once I acquired a functioning microphone, we quickly moved on into the Free Play Podcast that you may know us as today.

I do sort of miss some of the things you can do textually, but not verbally.

Why do you podcast?

Funny things, I originally misread this as How do you blog/podcast and wrote up this nice answer involving skype and audacity.

There are certainly many unflattering reasons why I might podcast, such as the inflated ego, the imaginary popularity I receive, the feeling of raw power the likes of which might only be rivaled with that of a certain Death Star. But I think its mostly the feeling of accomplishment, of progression, that I cannot derive from my school or work. It also, oddly enough, makes me feel professional in a way which, though hard to describe, is incredibly compelling. On many occasions due to scheduling issues and my own short memory, I’ve brushed off threats from Riknas by saying I wouldn’t really care to much to be off the show; it would give me more free time. That may be true, but I would have the feeling that something would be conspicuously missing.

Do you have a schedule or some sort of routine you try and follow when podcasting?

Yes and no. We have been changing our schedule a bit here and there, and some things get missed for whatever reasons.

Is there some grind involved in podcasting? If so, what is it and how do you cope with it?

The grind usually comes when I occasionally have to edit the podcast. There is a lot of listening through, stopping, adjusting someone’s volume, listening a little more. The easiest way to cope is to try and actually listen the podcast; while we’re recording it we really don’t get the same understanding of what everyone is saying as when you listen to is passively.

Trying to make a switch to just syncing up two audacity recordings, which should alleviate that, but who knows?

By contrast, what do you find pleasurable about podcasting?

I would say the actual recording of the episode. It’s nice to be able to have a fun, possibly intelligent discussion ( a thing Riknas and I will do in our free time anyways) while also feeling that we are contributing to the community in some way because of it, that we are providing a service.

How many people offline know you podcast?

Narcisist that I am, I’ve told more or less everyone I know with mixed results. I would say only 4 or 5 know and actually seem to care. One of them is my girlfriend, who doesn’t play games, so I’m not sure she counts.

What advice would you give someone who wanted to try their hand at podcasting?

GET A CO-HOST! But, more importantly, get a co-host you have some chemistry with. Podcasts, in my opinion, are more about having a conversation than listing off news or opinions. When I listen to podcasts its usually because I’m in a situation where I can only listen and not interact in any way. Podcasts still give you the feeling of being in a conversation, even when you are unable to contribute.

Co-hosts also halve any work you have to do, provided you split it evenly.

What is something you know now that you wish you had known when you first started?

I’m not sure there is any specific tidbit of knowledge or advice I would have benefitted from when I started, it’s more the experience and comfort I know have in podcasting that I think helps more. There aren’t as many stare-at-the-microphone moments, and bloopers are dealt with pretty seamlessly so that we can get back on track quickly.

Can you picture a future where you will hang up your  microphone and no longer podcast?

I can picture this future, but it is also marred with air-raid sirens, machine gun fire, Swastikas and very possibly and oncoming alien invasion. Short of that, no.

At your funeral, what song(s) would you have played as your corpse is set alight and cast out to sea on a funeral barge?

Zippidy Doo-dah

Leave a Reply

 
