Grinding to Valhalla

Interviewing the gamer with a thousand faces

Andras (Chapter 4)

Posted by Randolph Carter on June 25, 2009

MMO community connection:

Free Play Podcast

Chapter 4: Preferences

At your peak, how much time per week would you say you spent gaming? How about now?

I probably spent 45 – 50 hours a week gaming. Now that the rest of the “busy” world has caught up with me, I usually get about 5 – 10. I’m not sure if this is a bad thing or a good thing.

When during the week are your regular play times?

I wish I had them, its usually whenever I get some free time. I guess it would typically be early weekends and late weekdays

Generally speaking, are you more of a social creature in MMOs (grouping to quest, joining guilds, etc.) or something of a lone wolf?

I’m a shy wolf, I would say. I don’t like meeting and grouping with random people in MMOs, but I think I’m usually pretty sociable once I’m introduced by a more extroverted friend like Riknas here. It’s a weird dichotomy since I absolutely hate soloing.

Have you made any lasting friendships through your MMO experience? Please explain.

I’m not sure if the friendship was made through the MMO or through other mediums, but to be safe, I will say yes.

Before logging into a game, do you already have a course of action planned out in your head, or do you just sort of do whatever you feel like once in game?

I typically forget where I was when signing into the MMO, so I usually do whatever I feel like in the game, unless there’s a pressing auction item or something which requires previous planning.

When playing MMOs do you tend to just play one at a time or do you take more of the smorgasbord approach?

Definitely one at a time, but only for fiscal reasons.

Do you tend to supplement your MMO gaming with other PC, console or tabletop games?

I usually have the other games ready for my breaks in between MMOs, but when I have one that I’m subscribed to, I feel I won’t be getting my money’s worth unless I play it in all my free time. Which kinda ends up killing the game a bit. I should probably stop that.

Are you something of an altoholic?

I wish I knew what that me- oh! Like alternate characters! Then, yes, since in most games (most notably City of Heroes) I love the character creation and set-up, and it usually takes me a few run throughs before I create a character I feel like investing considerable time into.

Do you find yourself multitasking while gaming (perhaps watching TV, talking on the phone, out of game instant messaging, playing another game, or even listening to a podcast)?

I feel like if I do that, the game I’m playing probably isn’t worth the money involved. That said, in F2P games, I will often do it. The one I can remember most clearly was playing runescape on my laptop, grinding for runes, while watching the Twilight Zone marathon.

Do you find yourself having much MMO discussion off-line, perhaps with friends or family?

YES! I would adjust the font and make it larger, but I fear that adjustment might not make it into the final product. As a note, larger fonts are typically used to add emphasis, what I’m trying to achieve here. I find myself talking about MMO comparisons, rumors, opinions, theories, and anything else you can think of to anyone with the slightest care for MMOs, and a few that do not.

Have you ever felt that you game too much? If so, how did you cope with that?

There was a time when I felt a gamed too much, particularly during those 45- 50 weeks. I eventually decided that I would immediately stop gaming given the slightest opportunity to do anything else. This actually helped quite a bit, as I took more walks, hung out with more friends, and played more boardgames. In my current situation, I feel like I could stand to play games a bit more. Ah well.

Since you started playing MMOs, have you ever taken a break from the genre? If so, please explain.

Yes, I take fairly frequent breaks. Usually I get tired of the MMO I’m playing and stop until Riknas “drags” me into the next one. I daresay these stints are longer than the time I actually play MMOs, with the exception of when we review the F2P ones. I don’t really count those.

Leave a Reply

 
