Grinding to Valhalla

Interviewing the gamer with a thousand faces

Openedge1 (Chapter 5)

Posted by Randolph Carter on June 22, 2009

MMO community connection:

Dichotomy of the Gamers Blogosphere 

Chapter 5: Blogging

When did you first start blogging?

Originally I started just lurking on forums and other bloggers blogs, commenting away. I noted about a little over a year ago that my comments became quite stream of consciousness, and of course took up too much space in their comment sections.  I then took it to the blogs.

When I first started, it was a little about my guilds in the games I enjoyed, then it became commentary on the MMO industry. But, at one point, the commentary became a war of words with other select bloggers. A disagreement became a battle of the blogs.  My commentary ruffled some feathers, and I got a little ticked at the comments taking place. Felt like a forum troll war.

I took my blog, and converted it into a Russian Bloc, complete with paraphernalia, imagery and Russian alphabet being combined with Communist like news stories. All other bloggers who “kissed the butts” of the games and developers they enjoyed were taken to task as “Comrades” of the Blog Regime…hiding how bad some games were behind a Russian like rhetoric. Especially after the Age of Conan, WAR releases, there became quite a continuity in the blogosphere.  Dousing their game with love even though the game was not that great. It was the shiny new smell that still had them enthralled. From Keen and Graevs praise of WAR, Heartless_ meanderings on how it will be THE game and Bildo’s personal attacks all because of WAR love, this really got me fed up with this group of bloggers. I wrote articles about their blog posts, having fun, and making them look like Communists.  But, after this brief stint, I destroyed my blog…i.e: Russia finally nuked itself!

I recreated what my blog is today, and I am more focused on the games I am playing and discussing those games in particular, and avoiding the blogosphere itself as my posting regimen.

Quite a story. Head to Channel Massive’s podcasts, and find their archives there of how this played out.

Why do you blog?

It is a good outlet to me to tell a story of what is happening in my game of choice, and a way for me to write my thoughts. I am not an overly social person outside of my blog (yet, I play social games)…and that is a personal preference. I will not get into that story. But, by blogging (and Twitter now) I can communicate with a world who may wish to read what these games are doing…or not. It is up to them. I am not in it for the money…that’s for sure…lol

Do you have a schedule or some sort of routine you try and follow when blogging?

I am trying to stick to a post a day. But, it can be random. No set day of “this is what I will write”. Like I said, I wanted a stream of consciousness way of discussing whats going on. And it is a way to share with anyone who has an interest in my game of choice to see what is happening in that title, and if it may be right for them. Maybe it is a “rants for free” service if anything.

Is there some grind involved in blogging? If so, what is it and how do you cope with it?

If I want to write a big article, I have to feel it. Like sharing a post on a major quest I completed or something…but, it is not grindy to me (it was before the Bloc exploded though…and maybe that is why that happened..I needed an outlet to destroy this need of my own to force blog each day)

By contrast, what do you find pleasurable about blogging?

That stream I discussed. I want to write what I am thinking and sometimes it may have typos, or be confusing to some people. But, it is an outlet for me, not meant to be news..I also think that is what the Bloc meant to expose. Some of the bloggers think they are news, paparazzi, and they are just another person with an opinion…I have even noted some of those bloggers who blew up with me seem to not write anymore. Maybe realized their words were falling on deaf ears?

But, the blog is a personal outlet to discuss what I am feeling…It truly is my own diary of gaming and stuff.

How many people offline know you blog?

A few…not a lot. Wife who has discussed stuff with me in the past.  Several gaming friends…that is about it.

What advice would you give someone who wanted to try their hand at blogging?

Don’t…unless you know that you are doing it for yourself. A lot of the bloggers from last year all died in their blogging and blew up themselves. Due to the fact the game they chose maybe died, or they felt they were reporting something important. Just know that the blog is for you…not anyone else. If you wish others to read it…share it…but don’t expect a major audience…and who knows..

What is something you know now that you wish you had known when you first started?

Be careful of how you discuss things with others. Some do not understand how to take the written word and disconnect. Some still have “feelings” hurt when words are used. Even though those words may not be harmful. I guess you just need to learn to control some language and I am trying my best to deal with that.

Can you picture a future where you will hang up your keyboard and no longer blog?

Yup…but, as Conan says “In the year 3000…..”

At your funeral, what song(s) would you have played as your corpse is set alight and cast out to sea on a funeral barge?

Sorry…burning taking place here. We do not need to be ruining our oceans with strange objects like myself. But, hey, if some bagpipers wanna play something as my body turns to smoke…cool!

Leave a Reply

 
