Grinding to Valhalla

Interviewing the gamer with a thousand faces

Sente (Chapter 5)

Posted by Randolph Carter on June 9, 2009

MMO community connection:

A Ding World

Chapter 5: Blogging

When did you first start blogging?

Roughly 15 years ago when travelling abroad on vacation I started to write emails to friends and family back home, sort of a travel diary. A few years ago those emails turned into a blog instead, basically being updated a few times each vacation. I have stopped writing this blog nowadays, but will perhaps reactivate it at some point. My MMO blog, A Ding World, started almost 2 years ago.

Why do you blog?

Because I like writing about various topics, it is quite handy to have it archived in one place also. And if people read it and have comments, it is just great.

Do you have a schedule or some sort of routine you try and follow when blogging?

Not a strict schedule, but it will happen during the same time where I would otherwise play games. So typically it is fairly late in the evenings and instead of playing MMOs.

Sometimes I will start writing directly after a play session, which typically happens when I write a bit about events during that play session.

Is there some grind involved in blogging? If so, what is it and how do you cope with it?

No grind, if I do not have anything to write I simply do not write. I write when I have an urge to write, however the result may not always be the best. Sometimes I may be sensible enough to delete it before it gets posted, sometimes I post it anyway.

By contrast, what do you find pleasurable about blogging?

Getting good/fun/interesting/thoughtful comments from readers.

The act of writing when the topic gets twisted and turned as part of the writing process and end up something quite different from my original thought.

How many people offline know you blog?

Pretty much everyone I know is online in some sense, so I would say no-one offline knows about it. Very few among family, friends and collegues play online games and hence also very few of them know about my MMO blog.

What advice would you give someone who wanted to try their hand at blogging or podcasting?

Read and comment on other blogs that you are interested in. Do not try to force writing posts if you do not feel you have anything to write. It should be fun, so write when you feel you have something to post and pick something that it fun for you to write about.

What is something you know now that you wish you had known when you first started?

I have learned a number of things, but I do not really wish that I knew them when I started, even though some mistakes could have been avoided. The learning process itself is also a good thing.

Can you picture a future where you will hang up your keyboard and no longer blog?

Of course. But if I stop blogging it just will mean that I will channel my desire to write about stuff to something else.

At your funeral, what song(s) would you have played as your corpse is set alight and cast out to sea on a funeral barge?

Oh boy, difficult one. A few that I might consider would be:

  • Oxygène, part 4 – Jean-Michelle Jarre
  • Om – Niklas Strömstedt
  • Look on the bright side of life – Monty Python
  • Wish I had an angel – Nightwish
  • Also Sprach Zarathustra, opus 30 – Strauss
  • Final Countdown – Europe

Leave a Reply

 
