Grinding to Valhalla

Interviewing the gamer with a thousand faces

Jaye (Chapter 4)

Posted by Randolph Carter on June 1, 2009

MMO community connection:

Journeys with Jaye | Shut Up We’re Talking | A View From the Top

Chapter 4: Preferences

At your peak, how much time per week would you say you spent gaming? How about now?

I will take the 5th on how much time I played at my peak. Currently, I play about 2-3 hours a night.

When during the week are your regular play times?

I might pop on during the day while I eat lunch or sip a cup of coffee, but I’m mainly on at night from 8ish-11ish EST, depending on the kids.

Generally speaking, are you more of a social creature in MMOs (grouping to quest, joining guilds, etc.) or something of a lone wolf?

I’m definitely a social player in MMOs.

Have you made any lasting friendships through your MMO experience? Please explain.

I’ve had the fortune of making several long friendships. I currently am guilded with some people who I have been gaming with for almost a decade. The neat thing is seeing an old face suddenly send a tell saying they tracked down the guild and want to come play. And I’m thankful for the new friendships I’ve made as well. I’m sure that 10 years later, I’ll be looking back fondly on the friendships that I’m making right now.

Before logging into a game, do you already have a course of action planned out in your head, or do you just sort of do whatever you feel like once in game?

A lot of what I do revolves around the guild. We have set raid and guild event nights, but we also have off nights. I try to have some kind of plan in mind for off nights, but it doesn’t always work out that way. 🙂

When playing MMOs do you tend to just play one at a time or do you take more of the smorgasbord approach?

I am definitely a monogamous gamer

Do you tend to supplement your MMO gaming with other PC, console or tabletop games?

Nope.

Are you something of an altoholic?

I’m surrounded by them in guild, but I’m definitely not one of them.

Do you find yourself multitasking while gaming (perhaps watching TV, talking on the phone, out of game instant messaging, playing another game, or even listening to a podcast)?

I used to multitask a lot in EQ, but I find that it’s nearly impossible to do that in EQ2. Too much button mashing.

Do you find yourself having much MMO discussion off-line, perhaps with friends or family?

I don’t talk about MMOs with my real life friends and family. I often talk about gaming offline with other gamers and my podcasting peers.

Have you ever felt that you game too much? If so, how did you cope with that?

I probably gamed too much before the kids were born. But now, I make sure I balance gaming and kids. There’s a part of me that misses the more hardcore, long play sessions of the good old days, but I know it’s not an option for me.

Since you started playing MMOs, have you ever taken a break from the genre? If so, please explain.

I actually have never taken an MMO break since I started in 1999. I guess that makes me a DecaMMOr. Or something.

Leave a Reply

 
