Grinding to Valhalla

Interviewing the gamer with a thousand faces

Tipa (chapter 5)

Posted by Randolph Carter on May 31, 2009

MMO community connection:

West Karana

Chapter 5: Blogging

When did you first start blogging?

I started blogging October 2005, but I had been making blog-like posts on my EQ guild’s message boards for some time prior to that.

Why do you blog?

I can’t play every MMO, and I can’t play even the ones I have as much as I’d like. Blogging lets me experience games in a new way. I’ve always liked the metagaming that surrounds games — of which blogging is a part — as much as the games themselves.

Do you have a schedule or some sort of routine you try and follow when blogging?

I usually like to read my news feeds in the morning, take a show, then blog while my hair is getting dry enough to be manageable, before work.

Is there some grind involved in blogging? If so, what is it and how do you cope with it?

I mix up my blogging just like I mix up the games I play. If I feel like writing an opinion piece, I do it. If I feel like just making a silly comic instead, I do it. If I feel like writing up something that happened to me in game, I do it. Story to tell? I do it. Commercial blogs perhaps have to set a tone and be consistent, but blogging is for fun.

By contrast, what do you find pleasurable about blogging?

I like finding like people through blogging. Blogging is like being at a party where everyone is a friend, the ultimate social gathering. It doesn’t take high end graphics or the latest computer or a fast internet connection to do it, either. It’s just a bunch of friendly people, sharing stories, and everyone has their turn.

How many people offline know you blog?

My family (though mostly they aren’t MMO gamers and thus don’t read it), a couple people at work. Weird question, though. Who is offline these days?

What advice would you give someone who wanted to try their hand at blogging?

Do it on a schedule, do it every day if you can, and do it because it’s something you like to do. People will find you eventually — but you can help things along by commenting on other people’s blogs, or sending in voice mail to podcasts in the hopes it gets played.

What is something you know now that you wish you had known when you first started?

Don’t be a whiner.

Can you picture a future where you will hang up your keyboard and no longer blog?

Only if I find another creative outlet I like more.

At your funeral, what song(s) would you have played as your corpse is set alight and cast out to sea on a funeral barge?

Requiem by Altan Urag.

My ashes swept up on the wind, and borne by the wind, fly over the frozen plains and embrace the earth.

Leave a Reply

 
