Grinding to Valhalla

Interviewing the gamer with a thousand faces

Bonedead (Chapter 3)

Posted by Randolph Carter on May 25, 2009

MMO community connection:

Bonedead’s Adventures

Chapter 3: Online

Were you ever exposed to MUDs?

Not in the “good ol days” but recently (last two or so years) I played some game called Grendel which I assumed was pretty much like what they used to be. I killed a few things, got chased by something I couldn’t beat, and the next day I forgot about it.

What was your first MMO experience?

My first MMO experience was on a free server for UO. My friend introduced me to it. It was an RP server and you had to apply with an RP story about your character. I had my friend write mine because I thought it was dumb. To be honest I don’t remember anything from that server, but my next one, Athlore, I will always remember. This was when I was in around 8th grade, so I’d say about, 1999/2000.

If possible, list all the MMOs you’ve played extensively.

UO. I was never a Xx GM mfker but I did use bugs to my advantage a lot. Mainly to get phat lewt. I GMed tinkering because there was a bug where you could create copper keys without any materials, so I left that running all night. Whoopee.

DAoC was probably next. I’ve played it on and off since release. I have I think 3 level 50s. A Kobold Warrior, a Dwarf Skald, a Minotaur Mauler, and I think a 49 Lurikeen Ranger, might be elf though. It took me forever to finally reach max level, and this is pretty much the only game I’ve done it in.

AO was around this time (in my head at least). I played around release. it was buggy as crap, laggy as balls, but they had live events for a lile while and that was just plain cool. I don’t think I made it passed level 15. Since I have gone back and now have a 50-60 Martial Artist and probably 4 guys in their 30s-40s.

Then there was SWG. I loved SWG the way it was, but I like it now too. I remember using some more bugs to my advantage kekeke. If you had Bleed shot (or something like that) as a Pistoleer, you could shoot the big slow bunnies and let them get down to 1% HP, and whatever weapon you used to finish them off with would get the full amount of Combat XP. This didn’t help very much, especially since I liked Pistoleer more than anything else, but it made me feel special heh. I have two level 90 Structures Traders now. I think I have 3-4 level 50 combat professions as well.

WoW blew my mind. I’ve never pregamed so hard in my life. I leveled 3-4 Gnome/Dwarf Rogues to level 15/20 in the Open Beta just to get a good groove down for launch day so I could get ahead of the pack. At this point in my life I was really bad at sticking with it and making it to max level. I still have not reached max level in WoW (highest level is 56). I am currently playing a free server though, with UO rules, and 10x exp. I have an 80 Rogue, 71 Warlock, 60+ Shaman, and a 60+ Priest. Apparently all I needed was 10x exp.

From there I went to EQ2. I didn’t get one character over level 25, I think I’ve only left the Commonlands once. But I did enjoy playing it when the playing was good, it just seemed there was always a point when you had to start grouping. MEH I SAY! I think during my last stint I bought the fairy expansion.

After that I believe I went on a free to play spree. I played Knight Online pretty heavily at one time. At the time they were hosted/published/owned (whatever) by a Malaysian company. This company also had 3 or 4 other MMOs that I played a little.

Then came Vanguard. I loved the open beta and the first week or so. That is until I kept crashing and “chunking”. I remember losing a whole level once while “chunking”. But I loved the PvP server, especially as a Bard.

Warhammer. Got to my late 20s on a Witch Elf. Was specced to proc a lot and I felt pretty powerful. But I don’t stick with games apparently, so I stopped.

Darkfall Online. I was really into this game. I joined a guild, I spent 5+ hours a day playing, and I neglected my fiance a whole lot while getting drunk with my guildies on vent and taking orders from a woman who was my guild leader. Fiance wasn’t a big fan of the whole, guild leader, 5+ hours a day thing, and I fully understand that. So I gave it up, cold turkey (unless Counter-Strike makes it, err, warm turkey?)!

What is your current MMO of choice, or perhaps, what are your current MMOs of choice?

Right now I am having a blast with this UOWoW.com free server. I can make a character and get him to level 50 by the end of the day. I don’t see how that could ever be a bad thing.

Which MMO have you spent the most time playing? How long would you say that has been?

It is probably a tie between WoW and DAoC. My Xfire has me at 747 WoW hours, but I’ve had Xfire turned off the past week or so and I’ve probably added at least 50 hours to it since I had a nice 4 day weekend. DAoC has 598 Catacombs and 326 Labyrinth of the Minotaur. So I guess DAoC.

Have you reached level cap in any MMO? If so, which ones?

DAoC (but only after Catacombs, which increased leveling speed dramatically), SWG (but only as a Trader, twice, which can be grinded easily with use of macros), and technically WoW (but only with 10x exp on a free server).

Loki taps you on the shoulder one day to inform you that you have fallen victim to one of his elaborate pranks. The world you’ve been inhabiting of countless MMOs to choose from and play has merely been a dream. In reality only one MMO exists. After laughing at you for a bit he decides to take pity on you and allows you to choose which MMO will remain. Which one would you choose and why?

Need more parameters! If I choose UO will the graphics be considered butt ugly? Because if not, I would say UO. Give the genre a Tabula Rasa, if you will. If it is perceived to look like bawls then I guess I’d have to say WoW, just because the market would still be huge.

Are there any MMOs currently in development that you are particularly interested in? Please explain.

Nope. Maybe Star Trek because the new movie kicked sooo much arse. But I learned not to get my hopes up on MMOs a little while ago. So screw em, if it releases and it looks okay and sounds okay (via reading the features) and there’s an open beta then I’ll give it a shot. If there’s no open beta and no free trial and nobody I know is going crazy over it, then I’m not touching it, and I don’t know many MMO players who could even possibly go crazy over it.

Feel free to share an interesting or amusing anecdote related to your MMO gaming experience.

I used to log into free UO shards with the default admin account/password. Which at the time was %Administrator/%Administrator. My friend who introduced me to UO told me this (as he ran a local private 5-10 person server which I created a couple items for). So we would both do it and use our downloaded GM tools to buff ourselves up and then walk around town ruining peoples’ days. Ahh, the good ol days.

Leave a Reply

 
