Grinding to Valhalla

Interviewing the gamer with a thousand faces

Darren (Chapter 4)

Posted by Randolph Carter on May 18, 2009

MMO community connection:

The Common Sense Gamer | Shut Up. We’re Talking

Chapter 4: Preferences

At your peak, how much time per week would you say you spent gaming? How about now?

I’m kinda at my peak now surprisingly. How does that happen?😉

I’m usually playing something a couple hours a day, more on the weekends.

When during the week are your regular play times?

Right after the kids go to bed. So that is usually after 8pm EST.

Generally speaking, are you more of a social creature in MMOs (grouping to quest, joining guilds, etc.) or something of a lone wolf?

I go between both states actually…depending on how I feel at the time. I am noticing that I like to play with people more than not though.

Have you made any lasting friendships through your MMO experience? Please explain.

Absolutely. In EQ2, I ran across this group of people sitting in a huge circle just outside the North gate of Qeynos. I asked what was going on and they said, “guild meeting”. Well, I asked about joining up because I was just very impressed about their organization. I’ve gamed with the same core group of people off and on for years now.

Before logging into a game, do you already have a course of action planned out in your head, or do you just sort of do whatever you feel like once in game?

I usually have a plan going into the game, but I rarely follow through with those plans cause usually, something better comes up.

When playing MMOs do you tend to just play one at a time or do you take more of the smorgasbord approach?

I try to keep it to two MMOs at a time…with single player games rounding out the picture.

Do you tend to supplement your MMO gaming with other PC, console or tabletop games?

…yeah, I do plenty of single player games. Not really much of a console gamer.

Are you something of an altoholic?

Nope. I usually stick to one character.

Do you find yourself multitasking while gaming (perhaps watching TV, talking on the phone, out of game instant messaging, playing another game, or even listening to a podcast)?

The only game I can do that with is Eve Online. I find myself watch quite a few TED videos lately while doing missions.

Do you find yourself having much MMO discussion off-line, perhaps with friends or family?

ummmm……yes?😉

Have you ever felt that you game too much? If so, how did you cope with that?

Yes…I do game too much sometimes and I usually don’t deal with it because it is part of who I am. Oh well….😉

Since you started playing MMOs, have you ever taken a break from the genre? If so, please explain.

Not really. Since I play single player games as well, I find that the option is always there to take a break.

Leave a Reply

 
