Grinding to Valhalla

Interviewing the gamer with a thousand faces

Blackguard (Chapter 4)

Posted by Randolph Carter on May 11, 2009

MMO community connection:

Nerfbat.com | 38 Studios

Chapter 4: Preferences

At your peak, how much time per week would you say you spent gaming? How about now?

Probably somewhere around 80 hours. These days with a full-time job and wife, I’m probably down to 10 hours or so normally (though when a new game comes out that I really enjoy, that goes up to the 40 range).

When during the week are your regular play times?

I don’t have regular play times anymore. I play when I can play and feel like playing.

Generally speaking, are you more of a social creature in MMOs (grouping to quest, joining guilds, etc.) or something of a lone wolf?

I’m not overly social in MMOs most of the time. I go through spurts when I’m really big into socializing, and I’m almost always in a guild, but I tend to keep to myself pretty often given my erratic playtimes.

Have you made any lasting friendships through your MMO experience? Please explain.

Yep. I still talk to a number of different people who I’ve played one or more MMOs with, and have met a decent number of them in person.

Before logging into a game, do you already have a course of action planned out in your head, or do you just sort of do whatever you feel like once in game?

Sometimes, yes. Sometimes, no. Usually, I just jump in and do what will gain me the most progress in the shortest period of time.

When playing MMOs do you tend to just play one at a time or do you take more of the smorgasbord approach?

I usually play one at a time, but I try pretty much all of them. If something comes out while I’m playing another, I’ll usually check it out briefly. But, I’m so fickle that I tend to stop playing any MMO after I feel like I “get” it, and rarely stay with one for a long period of time anymore.

Do you tend to supplement your MMO gaming with other PC, console or tabletop games?

Heck yes! All kinds. I play good games and bad games of any type.

Are you something of an altoholic?

Yeah, I like to try everything out and rarely ever get to the end game with one character.

Do you find yourself multitasking while gaming (perhaps watching TV, talking on the phone, out of game instant messaging, playing another game, or even listening to a podcast)?

At times, but I prefer to immerse myself as much as I can. The most common way I multitask while gaming is in front of the TV with the wife so I can still hang out with her.

Do you find yourself having much MMO discussion off-line, perhaps with friends or family?

Yeah, it’s kinda my job.

Have you ever felt that you game too much? If so, how did you cope with that?

Not anymore. There was a time when I absolutely gamed too much, and I pretty much just grew out of it over time (I needed to make a living, ya know).

Since you started playing MMOs, have you ever taken a break from the genre? If so, please explain.

Not intentionally. There are often times when I’m not playing an MMO actively (like right now), but I’m always playing some kind of game.

Leave a Reply

 
