Grinding to Valhalla

Interviewing the gamer with a thousand faces

Openedge1 (Chapter 4)

Posted by Randolph Carter on May 8, 2009

MMO community connection:

Dichotomy of the Gamers Blogosphere

Chapter 4: Preferences

At your peak, how much time per week would you say you spent gaming? How about now?

Peak times could be 4-6 hours a night. I remember my wife and myself skipping work to play through some quests, and then on the weekends, we could play for 10-12 hours straight with foodie breaks between while we chatted over vent. Now though I cannot play more than 4 hours without needing a break. I have a new routine of 1-2 hours in the mornings and 3-4 hours on the weekends. Good casual play.

When during the week are your regular play times?

Oops…stated above. I have a M-F from 6-8am play schedule, and a little longer on Weekends. I have not played in the evenings for a long time now. Maybe I need to get on an Aussie server?

Generally speaking, are you more of a social creature in MMOs (grouping to quest, joining guilds, etc.) or something of a lone wolf?

Lately a lone wolf due to my weird schedule. Weekends I try to find groups though…but, I am not chatty. I use to be back in my heyday, as it seemed we played more for the friendship than the game itself. But, this friendships created quite a few issues in those relationships, like arguments, control issues, etc.

Have you made any lasting friendships through your MMO experience? Please explain.

My wife an myself have two people we still speak with. One gentleman joined us for every game. But, then we reached a divide when it came to LOTRO. This game broke up our gaming friendship for a year and we all hated LOTRO with a passion. We have started speaking with him again, who btw is playing LOTRO again…but we will not. Thus we just chat.

Before logging into a game, do you already have a course of action planned out in your head, or do you just sort of do whatever you feel like once in game?

Recently I have had a course of action. I have NEVER finished an MMO (even though you really can never finish an MMO)..i.e: I have never max leveled and raided or done any endgame. I am currently on the war path to do this. Otherwise, the only other game that we ever had a plan with was Guild Wars, which is really an entertaining game to focus on their missions and progression. The game really condones that planned gamestyle, and works. MMO’s just do not feel like they have a plan though…so I never had one myself.

When playing MMOs do you tend to just play one at a time or do you take more of the smorgasbord approach?

I have tried to play multiple games, and it never works. One always wins out, and I focus on that one.

Do you tend to supplement your MMO gaming with other PC, console or tabletop games?

Yes. We have an Xbox 360, and I have played several other single player games on my PC (The Witcher was a true winner)

Are you something of an altoholic?

Naw. I like to try some classes out to see if I like them, but I just cannot focus on more than 2 or 3 at most. Usually only 2 win.

Do you find yourself multitasking while gaming (perhaps watching TV, talking on the phone, out of game instant messaging, playing another game, or even listening to a podcast)?

Big time. I always like to break after some quests, and will scan some sites, do some Twittering or Facebook action. I even paused a game once or twice to watch a show on Hulu.

Do you find yourself having much MMO discussion off-line, perhaps with friends or family?

Just on my blog. I use to chat with the one friend 3-4 times a week on games over cell or vent. I will troll forums sometimes, or visit other blogs to talk about games..but not really too much lately…too busy.

Have you ever felt that you game too much? If so, how did you cope with that?

Not anymore. I really have a good schedule. I always worried about it in the past, but life is real good, thus no reason to involve myself too deeply in games when I have other things to do.

Since you started playing MMOs, have you ever taken a break from the genre? If so, please explain.

I had a major break after the launch of Age of Conan, No other game interested me. The game really broke down the parameters I associated with the MMO genre, and when I tried to play older games, they failed to me. I was able to play Guild Wars for a couple of months with my wife, and we had a blast. But, we finally left that genre for over 6 months. AoC’s failure to perform well was disappointing… But, when the game was taken over by Craig Morrison, I got an itch, and went back, and was quite pleased, and learned how to enjoy this MMO again. But, I am still leery of other slow style global cooldown MMO’s, and may never play those again… stay tuned!!

Leave a Reply

 
