Grinding to Valhalla

Interviewing the gamer with a thousand faces

Tipa (Chapter 4)

Posted by Randolph Carter on May 7, 2009

MMO community connection:

West Karana

Chapter 4: Preferences

At your peak, how much time per week would you say you spent gaming? How about now?

At peak, when I was unemployed, I bet at least 30 hours a week. Now, it’s about 15 in a variety of games.

When during the week are your regular play times?

From about 7 or 8pm until 11 or so.

Generally speaking, are you more of a social creature in MMOs (grouping to quest, joining guilds, etc.) or something of a lone wolf?

I like to do things with friends, or alone. I don’t really group with people I don’t know too much.

Have you made any lasting friendships through your MMO experience? Please explain.

I have made MANY. Some people I met back in 1999, I still talk to today, even though we’ve long since changed games.

Before logging into a game, do you already have a course of action planned out in your head, or do you just sort of do whatever you feel like once in game?

I see what friends are doing (yay, XFire), and if that’s something I want to get in on, I chat with them out of game and then log in. Otherwise, I don’t often sit down to play. More often I just read people’s blogs for awhile, and then if I feel an urge for a specific game, I play it.

When playing MMOs do you tend to just play one at a time or do you take more of the smorgasbord approach?

I used to be a single MMO player, back when I was serious. Now I am completely casual and go where the whim takes me.

Do you tend to supplement your MMO gaming with other PC, console or tabletop games?

I have some DS games and some PS3 games, but I feel I am missing a chance to be with friends if I am playing by myself, so I inevitably find myself on the computer, firing up an MMO or just chatting via XFire or Twitter while I play Flash games.

Are you something of an altoholic?

Not any more. Since i went casual, I stopped really wanting to see newbie content again and again.

Do you find yourself multitasking while gaming (perhaps watching TV, talking on the phone, out of game instant messaging, playing another game, or even listening to a podcast)?

Always. I am either watching a movie, or a TV show on Hulu, or listening to music, or playing a game on my DS at the same time. Wizard 101 fights are so slow that I just play my cards and then tab to a browser until it’s my turn again.

Do you find yourself having much MMO discussion off-line, perhaps with friends or family?

Not really. I don’t know anyone offline who really cares about MMOs, or even really knows what they are.

Have you ever felt that you game too much? If so, how did you cope with that?

I gamed too much when I was unemployed. But now my kids are grown, I have a good job, if I want to play MMOs or do anything else I want to do, why not?

Since you started playing MMOs, have you ever taken a break from the genre? If so, please explain.

No. Since I started playing Nexus: Kingdom of the Wind in 1998, I have been a dedicated MMO gamer. This was the kind of game I’d been looking for up til then.

Leave a Reply

 
