Grinding to Valhalla

Interviewing the gamer with a thousand faces

Jennifer (Chapter 3)

Posted by Randolph Carter on May 6, 2009

MMO community connection:

Girl Unplugged

Chapter 3: Online

Were you ever exposed to MUDs?

I never played MUDs.

What was your first MMO experience?

I played City of Heroes for roughly a month or so in the summer of 2004. I enjoyed the experience, particularly the character creation, but it didn’t really hook me. Once I stopped playing (I was a freshman in college that year so I didn’t have much leisure time), I didn’t start up with another MMO for almost a year.

If possible, list all the MMOs you’ve played extensively.

Since my first CoX experience was so brief, I’m going to list it later, at the point where I started playing more extensively.

  • World of Warcraft, Spring 2005 – Fall 2008 (with many long periods away from the game in between). Last characters played: 70 NE hunter, 70 undead mage
  • Age of Conan, Summer 2008. Played a Priest of Mitra to level 30 or so.
  • Warhammer Online, Fall 2008 – Spring 2009. Played a Rank 40 Sorceress.
  • City of Heroes, Spring 2009 – present. Currently playing a lot of different characters while I try out all the archetypes, but my highest is a level 36 empathy/dark defender.

What is your current MMO of choice, or perhaps, what are your current MMOs of choice?

City of Heroes is the only MMO I am currently playing.

Which MMO have you spent the most time playing? How long would you say that has been?

I definitely played WoW the longest, probably a year or two years in total (the three year time line I mentioned above, minus the time I spent away from the game).

Have you reached level cap in any MMO? If so, which ones?

I reached the level cap in WoW a couple of times – three 60’s when that was max, then two 70’s when the cap was raised – and once in WAR.

Loki taps you on the shoulder one day to inform you that you have fallen victim to one of his elaborate pranks. The world you’ve been inhabiting of countless MMOs to choose from and play has merely been a dream. In reality only one MMO exists. After laughing at you for a bit he decides to take pity on you and allows you to choose which MMO will remain. Which one would you choose and why?

I would want to choose facets from various MMOs and combine them into one, but since that wasn’t the question…I’d have to pick WoW. I don’t have any intentions to go back to that game in the near future, but if I had no other options I’d enjoy returning. It’s endless “endgame” cycle and daily quest rotation means I’ll never run out of stuff to do, especially if Blizz keeps releasing expansion packs.

There are certainly things I DON’T like about WoW (obviously, since I’m no longer playing), but there’s enough content there that, should I have to choose among all the MMOs available for one I’d have to play forever, WoW would satisfy me.

Are there any MMOs currently in development that you are particularly interested in? Please explain.

I suppose I’m somewhat interested in Champions Online, but I won’t play it until they offer a free trial. Otherwise, no, I’m not following any MMO releases.

Feel free to share an interesting or amusing anecdote related to your MMO gaming experience.

Playing MMOs with my boyfriend is certainly amusing and interesting. He has an uncanny habit for finding game mechanics he can take advantage of and then riding them as long as he can. I remember in the early days of our WoW careers (back when you were rich if you had 50 gold), savory deviate delight, a consumable that can transform your character into a ninja or pirate or – at that time – buff or debuff you randomly, was a rare item. When he discovered how much he could make by selling the item, he spent hours and hours fishing for deviate fish in a particular pond and sold them on the auction house, netting us tons of gold. He had a similar experience with netherweave cloth. The cloth could be purchased cheaply on the auction house, turned into bandages, and sold to a vendor for a small profit (between 50s and 2g, depending). He did this repeatedly until he had made well over 200g from the practice. The man’s a regular snake oil salesman, I tell you.

Leave a Reply

 
