Grinding to Valhalla

Interviewing the gamer with a thousand faces

Andras (Chapter 3)

Posted by Randolph Carter on May 5, 2009

MMO community connection:

Free Play Podcast

Chapter 3: Online

Were you ever exposed to MUDs?

I was back before the Free Play Gamers when I was just trying to find a good F2PMMO. I was enthralled by the retro feel, but quickly grew tired of it.

What was your first MMO experience?

That’s a toughy, since I would usually mooch off of Riknas and all the MMOs he played, but the first that I owned and paid for was City of Villains around 2005 or 06. My computer thought that it could run the game, but I would have half-hour to 45-minute loading times. I didn’t renew.

If possible, list all the MMOs you’ve played extensively.

Okay, so we got the aforementioned City of Villains, where I typically played a DPS stalker, and occassionally a mastermind.

Then I went onto my stepbrother’s World of Warcraft account, where I tried a hunter and warrior, I think I only got up to around level 15.

Then… Eve online, which I returned to again later. I was going for EWar, and got the reqs for an interceptor.

After that it gets blurry with all of the different F2P MMOs I went wandering to after that.

What is your current MMO of choice, or perhaps, what are your current MMOs of choice?

Love Guild wars, but I haven’t had the memory to re-install it, I still approve of Eve online, though I don’t feel too compelled to play it at the moment. Really, I’m keeping my eyes on the horizon.

Which MMO have you spent the most time playing? How long would you say that has been?

Well, Eve without question, but there was a lot of mindless work involved there. The MMO I’ve put the most active thought into was probably…. World of Warcraft once we got steady group nights going.

Have you reached level cap in any MMO? If so, which ones?

No, that’s still a goal of mine. (Makes me feel like a poser)

Loki taps you on the shoulder one day to inform you that you have fallen victim to one of his elaborate pranks. The world you’ve been inhabiting of countless MMOs to choose from and play has merely been a dream. In reality only one MMO exists. After laughing at you for a bit he decides to take pity on you and allows you to choose which MMO will remain. Which one would you choose and why?

First off, I’d ask if I could get something else instead (a superpower perhaps?) When he would undoubtedly laugh and threaten to take away his wish, I would probably have to say (almost guiltily) Guild Wars, but I’d have to do so out of ignorance, really. I would probably start to say Eve Onli-, but after the gloss of the player interaction wore off, I’d realize that would not be an intelligent choice. In the end, I might have to settle for a ressurected Tabula Rasa. Before anyone gets ready to through bottles at me, I feel that if TR were the only MMO and had the amazing revenue stream and extended time (without having to keep scrapping 90% of its code), it might have had something really amazing there, and its failure was just a case of too little, too late, not the absence of ambition.

Are there any MMOs currently in development that you are particularly interested in? Please explain.

There are quite a few MMOs I’m interested in, the first that comes to mind being Fallen Earth. I love the post-apocolyptic setting (morbid, maybe; fun, we think so) and the FPS ideas with it. The team seems to have reasonable goals set for themselves, aiming for a consistent base if not a large one, and they have a completely different outlook on crafting. I won’t go into total detail on every MMO I’m watching, but Champions Online, Jumpgate Evolution, and the possible Stargate Online.

Feel free to share an interesting or amusing anecdote related to your MMO gaming experience.

I suppose mine will fall into the category of interesting, and might take place over too long a timeline to truly be considered an anecdote, but since this is a question that I will “feel free” to answer, it shouldn’t matter too much.

So, whilst playing eve online, I ended up joining a corporation, whose leader was absent for a good deal of time. During this period, me and my accomplice (Riknas) decided we would try and make him the new CEO, since we could not be certain if the old one would return. In order to do this, we had to do quite a bit of social networking, to the point where I actually used the game’s notepad feature to keep track of who had what opinions on the matter, and who it would be best to avoid. Eventually Riknas got voted in, and upon doing so the former-CEO came back and pronounced his concern over the matter in a most colorful way. There the corp split, much like the Sunni and Shi’a, over who supported who. The old corp leader got another corporation to try and completely obliterate us, but Riknas was able to enlist the aid of a wonderful person we met very early one, who got HIS friend in a mercenary corp to declare war on the offending corporation.Throughout this there was lots of hiding in stations, frantically asking anyone if the coast was clear, quickly warping to a nearby station if a corp member said they were under attack.

Oh, yeah, and we only joined the corp to try and rob them.

Leave a Reply

 
