Grinding to Valhalla

Interviewing the gamer with a thousand faces

Tipa (Chapter 3)

Posted by Randolph Carter on May 3, 2009

MMO community connection:

West Karana

Chapter 3: Online

Were you ever exposed to MUDs?

Lambda MOO had made a big splash in the social media. Their website says this was around 1993, and that sounds about right. It was very, very crowded, and I had no idea how to not just be another gawker looking at all the freaks… which wasn’t all that wrong, and I didn’t stay long.

What was your first MMO experience?

1998, Nexus: Kingdom of the Wind. I was looking for a free version of a game like Ultima Online, which I couldn’t afford at the time. It was great fun, I played it for several months. Even though it was just a 2D game, it was incredibly deep and had a great backstory. It’s still running, too.

If possible, list all the MMOs you’ve played extensively.

  • Nexus: Kingdom of the Wind – I don’t remember my level. I think I was a mage class.
  • EverQuest – 67 Druid, 70 Rogue, 75 Cleric were my mains, in order.
  • Dark Age of Camelot – 34 Bard was my highest
  • Final Fantasy XI Online – 46 White Mage/Summoner I believe
  • World of Warcraft – 60 Priest
  • EverQuest 2 – 80 Troubadour, 80 Inquisitor
  • Wizard 101 – 50 Theurgist (Life Wizard)
  • City of Heroes – 21 Controller
  • Lord of the Rings Online – 36 Captain

What is your current MMO of choice, or perhaps, what are your current MMOs of choice?

I don’t really have a main game. I wander between EQ2, W101, LotRO, DOMO, etc.

Which MMO have you spent the most time playing? How long would you say that has been?

By far, I’ve spent more time in EverQuest than any other MMO. I was unemployed:/ I’ve spent over 200 days playing EQ on all my characters combined. We used to compare /played times so I know pretty much exactly how much I played.

Have you reached level cap in any MMO? If so, which ones?

Yes, in EverQuest, EQ2, WoW (at the time), and Wizard 101.

Loki taps you on the shoulder one day to inform you that you have fallen victim to one of his elaborate pranks. The world you’ve been inhabiting of countless MMOs to choose from and play has merely been a dream. In reality only one MMO exists. After laughing at you for a bit he decides to take pity on you and allows you to choose which MMO will remain. Which one would you choose and why?

EverQuest, the way it was when it started. But without so much crowding. I’ve never met so many good friends as I did in EverQuest. Never felt that same sense of wonder, mystery and danger. It was an open enough game that players could invent entirely new things, like marketplaces and raiding, which would set the standard in newer games from then on (and even be adopted by the devs themselves).

Are there any MMOs currently in development that you are particularly interested in? Please explain.

Star Trek Online looks good, It looks like an Exploration-based MMO. We haven’t had any of those since EQ went Achiever, but before then, all MMOs were Exploration or Social based. Asheron’s Call, Ultima Online…

Feel free to share an interesting or amusing anecdote related to your MMO gaming experience.

Too many. I couldn’t even start.

Leave a Reply

 
