Grinding to Valhalla

Interviewing the gamer with a thousand faces

Sente (Chapter 3)

Posted by Randolph Carter on April 27, 2009

MMO community connection:

A Ding World

Chapter 3: Online

Were you ever exposed to MUDs?

I had some brief exposure during my university time, but I never got caught up in it. I was using various bulletin-board systems that was my main “multi player” venue at that time, although that was just discussions – no gaming.

What was your first MMO experience?

My first MMO was Anarcy Online, in 2001. I had read an article in a local newspaper about MMOs which caught my interest. Looking at a store what MMOs were available I found Anarchy Online and Everquest. I choose Anarchy Online because it was newer and had just been released, plus that it had a SciFi theme. SciFi was more interesting to me than Fantasy, so it was an easy choice.

I found the whole experience quite fascinating. Anarchy Online had its issue when it was released, but I think I missed the worst part since I did not play directly from release, but a few weeks after. Since I had no previous notion of what an MMO might contain and I did not know what Funcom had promised, I was just eagerly absorbing everything I encountered. I created many different characters, trying out probably most combinations of profession and race possible.

If possible, list all the MMOs you’ve played extensively.

Not sure what extensively would be, but this list should cover MMOs I played at least 3 months.

  • Anarchy Online – Bureaucrat, level 53-54 I think
  • Earth & Beyond – Jenquai Explorer, level 150 (max level)
  • EVE Online – Minmatar character, I think
  • Star Wars Galaxies – human Master Ranger/Master Creature Handler
  • Final Fantasy XI – BeastMaster, level 45-46 I think
  • Everquest 2 – Ratonga Brigand, level 44-45 I think
  • World of Warcraft – Undead mage, level 60 (max at that time)
  • City of Heroes/Villains – Dominator, level 50 (max level). Actually 5 dominators at 50 and 1 at 49 at the time of writing.
  • Lord of the Rings Online – Rune Keeper, level 28-29 I think
  • Tabula Rasa – Engineer, level 47
  • Guild Wars – Necromancer, level 20
  • Age of Conan – Dark Templar, level 31

What is your current MMO of choice, or perhaps, what are your current MMOs of choice?

City of Heroes/Villains, Guild Wars and Age of Conan.

Which MMO have you spent the most time playing? How long would you say that has been?

City of Heroes/Villains, without a doubt. It will be 3 years calendar time in about 1 month.

Have you reached level cap in any MMO? If so, which ones?

Earth & Beyond, Star Wars Galaxies (no levels, but maxed out skills), World of Warcraft, City of Heroes/Villains and Guild Wars.

Loki taps you on the shoulder one day to inform you that you have fallen victim to one of his elaborate pranks. The world you’ve been inhabiting of countless MMOs to choose from and play has merely been a dream. In reality only one MMO exists. After laughing at you for a bit he decides to take pity on you and allows you to choose which MMO will remain. Which one would you choose and why?

I would not make any choice until I hear the developers of various MMOs answer that question – what would they do if their MMO would be the only one left?

Then I would also discuss that with friends about their choices. The current state of a game is not that interesting, since MMOs are constantly evolving anyway. What becomes interesting is how the developers would deal with such a situation.

Are there any MMOs currently in development that you are particularly interested in? Please explain.

Champions Online is definitely one. It is made by Cryptic who made City of Heroes/Villains and it seems to be their next attempt learning the lessons from the earlier game and probably keeping and expanding on what was good in the old game.

Guild Wars 2 is another one. I am very impressed by what ArenaNet did with Guild Wars, so I will happily try out any new game they are making.

Any SciFi, Apocalypse or Steampunk-themed MMO released will be something I will likely try out also.

Feel free to share an interesting or amusing anecdote related to your MMO gaming experience.

Well, I tend to write such things on my blog from time to time, so feel free to read there🙂

Leave a Reply

 
