Grinding to Valhalla

Interviewing the gamer with a thousand faces

Lars (Chapter 2)

Posted by Randolph Carter on April 27, 2009

Chapter 2: Origins

What kind of games (if any) did you play as a child before you got into video gaming? Did you play with family, friends or was it more of a solo activity?

I was born 1981 and got my first console at the age of 5 so honest i dont have so mutch memories without a console but i was not a kid that just played videogames all days, hade to point that out.

What other hobbies and/or activities did you have as a child (sports, music, etc)?

I did some wrestling as a kid.

Were you ever exposed to pen and paper role playing games? What was that experience like?

I was 20year old. The game was Vampire the masqurade and for all that have played that game you know that golden rule “Dont break the masqurade” and guess who did that several times? Yeah me but my friend and also GameMaster that night did cover that up. So my first Pen n Paper rpg experience was scary but also fun and after that it have been alot of pen and paper and that was like over 7 years ago and i think that it opened up my eyes for RPG games.

Did you read much as a child? If so, what did you like to read (books, comic books, etc?) Please list some favorite authors, titles, etc.

Not really it have come under later years.

Would you say that any of these games or books had an effect on your later appreciation of computer gaming and ultimately MMOs? Please explain.

I think my Pen n Paper rpgs did open my eyes for RPG’s and the will to build that ultimate character and the will to learn more about lore and characters and my love for freeroam rpgs

How were you fist introduced to video games? How old were you? What was the platform?

Got a Nes on chrismas, i was around 4-5years old.

Did you ever play coin-op games at the arcade? What was that experience like?

Oh yeah, my first contact with Arcades was when i was a kid and the mall my mom always dragged me to to buy new cloths hade this Double Dragon II Arcade and when we hade bought the clothes i always begged my mother for money to buy candy (I did know then that she would never give money to me to play a game) and then i ran off and played. I never got past the first boss but the experience was really intense

What was the first video game you can remember playing that really made an impression on you? Please explain.

A legend of Zelda, i didnt care that i couldnt understand english it was just so fun to run around killing stuff.

What gaming consoles have you owned in the past?

Nes, Snes, Gameboy, Gameboy color, N64, Gamecube and i still have them and often take them out and play them and remember all the good times.

Feel free to share a story related to your gaming experience as a child.

Oh there are so many, but i have one funny story. It was when Mega Man 2 came out and both me and my mate bought that game and i sat at my place playing and he at his place playing and we did call up eachother every time we did defeat a boss. And if you have played you know that the game didnt have a save function but instead used this password system with a A-1 B-3 kind of system. I hade Electric man and Wood Man left and i was stuck and one morning i did put in the code (or atleast i thought i put the right code in) and Oh my god when i got to the choose level screen all the bosses was gone and i could go to the Dr Willy stage. And my mate still hates me for that “accident”. And when i am talking about Megan Man 2 i also remember the first boss in Dr Willy stage that dragon that pops-up when you jump the cliffs, i did always got so scared that i jumped wrong and died.

Leave a Reply

 
