Grinding to Valhalla

Interviewing the gamer with a thousand faces

Wiqd (Chapter 3)

Posted by Randolph Carter on April 26, 2009

MMO community connection:

iMMOvation

Chapter 3: Online

Were you ever exposed to MUDs?

I only played a few MUDs, but none that I clearly remember. My gaming back then was almost strictly console based, with the PC games being single player. For the games I did play, I really don’t think they affected me as much as others.

What was your first MMO experience?

My first MMO was Everquest back in 1999. I loved and still love the experience of EQ. The world seemed massive and many of the mechanics and ideas used are things I’d like to see redone in current MMOs. I feel EQ was an appropriate difficulty despite its shortcomings and the recent move to easier, more dumbed-down styles of play really hurt the industry.

If possible, list all the MMOs you’ve played extensively.

Everquest (expansions up til OoW), Asheron’s Call, Asheron’s Call 2, Anarchy Online, Star Wars Galaxy, Dark Age of Camelot, Everquest 2 (all current expansions), World of Warcraft(all current expansions), Lineage II, RF Online, Eve Online, City of Heroes, City of Villains, Tabula Rasa, Lord of the Rings Online, Age of Conan, Warhammer Online.

There are others, but these are the ones I’ve spent the most time with.

What is your current MMO of choice, or perhaps, what are your current MMOs of choice?

I recently resigned to having just 1 MMO on my plate while I wait for something actually good to come along. That choice is Everquest 2.

Which MMO have you spent the most time playing? How long would you say that has been?

I played EQ for about 5 years and have played World of Warcraft and Everquest 2 for about the same amount of time now.

Have you reached level cap in any MMO? If so, which ones?

I’ve hit the level cap in about every MMO I’ve ever played, if only to quit just after😉 I like seeing everything in a game before I toss it.

Loki taps you on the shoulder one day to inform you that you have fallen victim to one of his elaborate pranks. The world you’ve been inhabiting of countless MMOs to choose from and play has merely been a dream. In reality only one MMO exists. After laughing at you for a bit he decides to take pity on you and allows you to choose which MMO will remain. Which one would you choose and why?

Honestly, whatever MMO I come up with to finally make😉 If I had to choose just 1 from the current picks, it would be Everquest 2.

Are there any MMOs currently in development that you are particularly interested in? Please explain.

I’m interested in any and every MMO that’s in development at any given time. I do my research and try to alpha / beta as much as I can, avoiding open betas at all costs. Mostly it’s to see what, if anything, these companies are doing different with their game, but I can honestly say I’ve been pretty disappointed in the last few years.

Feel free to share an interesting or amusing anecdote related to your MMO gaming experience.

Well, despite my aversion to WoW, it’s where I met my current fiancee, so it wasn’t all bad😉 She was actually my guild leader, introduced to me by someone else in WoW who thought we would fit perfectly. She was right🙂

Leave a Reply

 
