Grinding to Valhalla

Interviewing the gamer with a thousand faces

Rivs (Chapter 3)

Posted by Randolph Carter on April 25, 2009

MMO community connection:
`

Chapter 3: Online

Were you ever exposed to MUDs?

Nope

What was your first MMO experience?

2002 was the year. I was playing Aliens vs Predator 2 like crazy. I was part of a Clan called Hell’s Elite Legions. They were starting a new chapter for a game called Dark Ages of Camelot. Since I just recently got laid off, I had A LOT of time on my hands, so they needed healers and I decided to start a cleric.

If possible, list all the MMOs you’ve played extensively.

  • Dark Ages of Camelot – Cleric 50
  • World of Warcraft – Mage 80
  • Warhammer Online – Chosen 40.

What is your current MMO of choice, or perhaps, what are your current MMOs of choice?

World of Warcraft and Warhammer Online

Which MMO have you spent the most time playing? How long would you say that has been?

World of Warcraft since beta in 2004.

Have you reached level cap in any MMO? If so, which ones?

Yes DAOC, WoW, and WAR

Loki taps you on the shoulder one day to inform you that you have fallen victim to one of his elaborate pranks. The world you’ve been inhabiting of countless MMOs to choose from and play has merely been a dream. In reality only one MMO exists. After laughing at you for a bit he decides to take pity on you and allows you to choose which MMO will remain. Which one would you choose and why?

Hmmm. Tough question. I would like WAR to stay because I love the Lore, and the RvR aspect of it.

Are there any MMOs currently in development that you are particularly interested in? Please explain.

Star Trek Online – I want to be a Klingon, and Captain a Bird of Prey – KAPLAH!

And Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic. – Evil Sith Lord…hello!

Feel free to share an interesting or amusing anecdote related to your MMO gaming experience.

So many, One of my personal favorites was after a raid in World of Warcraft where I was playing my Alliance Mage. Usually Mages open a portal to main city, usually Ironforge. Well players just assume Mages would teleport them where they want to go. So I worked things out with my Mage brethren. We opened our portals all to Darnassus. They all clicked on them. All the mages heard on vent was, “Damn Mages!” It was great…So the lesson here is always look before you click. Heck some of my guildies still look before they click one of my portals.

Leave a Reply

 
