Grinding to Valhalla

Interviewing the gamer with a thousand faces

Jaye (Chapter 2)

Posted by Randolph Carter on April 19, 2009

MMO community connection:

Journeys with Jaye | Shut Up. We’re Talking | A View From the Top

Chapter 2: Origins

What kind of games (if any) did you play as a child before you got into video gaming? Did you play with family, friends or was it more of a solo activity?

I played lots of board games with my family – Sorry!, Parcheesi, Chutes and Ladders, Uno, Master Mind, Trivial Pursuit, Monopoly, Boggle, I Vant to Bite Your Finger (my brother and I used to compete to see who could get more bites)

I also played cards with my Grandfather – Pinochle, Poker, No Peek Poker (Acey Deucy Baseball!), Black Jack, Slap Jack, Pound Jack (A variation created by my brother and I), Crazy Eights.

What other hobbies and/or activities did you have as a child (sports, music, etc)?

Every sport under the sun – Basketball, Baseball/Softball, Football, Kickball, Street Hockey, Bike Riding, Pickle, Wiffle Ball, heck, we used to make up our own sports based on whatever was around at the time.

Were you ever exposed to pen and paper role playing games? What was that experience like?

I wanted to be but I never found the right crowd to hang with. I even had one of those Dungeons and Dragons red box sets, just waiting to be played. Still do, somewhere.

Did you read much as a child? If so, what did you like to read (books, comic books, etc?) Please list some favorite authors, titles, etc.

I read a lot of fantasy novels – C.S. Lewis, and Tolkien. I also read Paul R. Fisher, Terry Brooks, Peter Dickson, Robin McKinley, T.H. White.

I also loved the Choose Your Own Adventure series, as well as Nancy Drew, the Bobsey Twins, and the Time Machine Series.

Would you say that any of these games or books had an effect on your later appreciation of computer gaming and ultimately MMOs? Please explain.

I think I always had an interest in fantasy, so it probably made a game like EQ that much more appealing.

How were you fist introduced to video games? How old were you? What was the platform?

I don’t remember how old I was, but the first platform was the Atari 2600, which we got for Christmas. (Hi-5 Santa!)

Did you ever play coin-op games at the arcade? What was that experience like?

I played a little, but I never really got into coin-op games. I usually watched my brother play.

What was the first video game you can remember playing that really made an impression on you? Please explain.

My first video game that I remember playing was Pong. But the first one that made an impression on me was probably Kings Quest, a PC game. Something about the animation, and the whole idea of exploring a world, having adventures, etc.

What gaming consoles have you owned in the past?

Atari 2600. In our household, we also had a Playstation, but I never used it. (True story!)

Feel free to share a story related to your gaming experience as a child.

I still want to know why there are parts of the Atari 2600’s Night Driver that are physically and geometrically impossible to traverse!

Leave a Reply

 
