Grinding to Valhalla

Interviewing the gamer with a thousand faces

Ravious (Chapter 3)

Posted by Randolph Carter on April 17, 2009

MMO community connection:

Kill Ten Rats

Chapter 3: Online

Were you ever exposed to MUDs?

A very little. I tried them back in the day when some company bought one of my favorite internet communities RPGnet (or maybe they owned them from the start, I am not sure). Anyway, RPGnet had to basically pay for bandwidth/hosting so they started advertising for the company that bought them. I tried Grendel’s Revenge, and a few others, and they were neat… but by then I had played 3D MMOs and couldn’t figure out where the extra fun was (or tradeoff fun) in MUDs.

What was your first MMO experience?

It was somewhere in 2000. I heard from my friends at other colleges about people dropping out of college because of Everquest. Well I had to try it. What kind of game was so hardcore that people were ruining their lives over it. I had fun, but was not impressed. I was an elf-something, and I ran around killing faeries and what not. It was alright. Then I finally was high enough level to go and try and kill orcs. So, I would group up with people and we sat on a hill. Then orcs spawned, and we would kill them and loot them as fast as we could. Then sat on the hill. Rinse and repeat. I quickly uninstalled the game thereafter.

If possible, list all the MMOs you’ve played extensively.

  • Everquest (Elf something)
  • A Tale in the Desert (Betas, Telling 1, some of Telling 2)
  • Toadwater
  • Guild Wars (Necromancer)
  • World of Warcraft (47 Human Priest)
  • City of Heroes (???)
  • Tabula Rasa (31 Ranger?)
  • Lord of the Rings Online (60 Captain)
  • Warhammer Online (27 Zealot)

What is your current MMO of choice, or perhaps, what are your current MMOs of choice?

Guild Wars and Lord of the Rings Online. It goes between the two. Guild Wars is by far and away my favorite, but where it is lacking is in the feeling of solo play. When I say “solo” I mean no henchmen, heroes, bots, etc. It’s a different feeling to go off exploring and conquering on your own. The 8-headed hydra feeling of late game Guild Wars (especially with consumables) just got to me. Now, I use it mainly for PvP. Lord of the Rings Online is my PvE choice.

Which MMO have you spent the most time playing? How long would you say that has been?

Guild Wars.

Have you reached level cap in any MMO? If so, which ones?

Amazingly enough only Guild Wars (not an achievement) and Lord of the Rings Online. I have been dabbling with MMOs for nearly a decade, and only reached the level cap after the Lord of the Rings Online expansion, Mines of Moria. It was a personal victory, but I think also telling of the gamer population. Before Guild Wars I mostly played FPS and Diablo-like games; I just didn’t have the patience to get to a max level. Games where it “begins” at max-level, in my opinion, are missing the point (and a lot of market share).

Loki taps you on the shoulder one day to inform you that you have fallen victim to one of his elaborate pranks. The world you’ve been inhabiting of countless MMOs to choose from and play has merely been a dream. In reality only one MMO exists. After laughing at you for a bit he decides to take pity on you and allows you to choose which MMO will remain. Which one would you choose and why?

Can I choose Guild Wars 2? Honestly, that’s a tough decision. I guess if nothing else changed (release schedule, expansions, content, etc.), I would choose Lord of the Rings Online just because Guild Wars does not have the same depth and sticky content. Guild Wars would be much better for short term quick plays, but I don’t think would go the distance that Lord of the Rings Online would.

Are there any MMOs currently in development that you are particularly interested in? Please explain.

Guild Wars 2, The Secret World, and The Agency are my top three looking forward to games. I am very excited about The Agency because it is not a clone-type dikumud MMO. It’s going to be very action based and very accessible. Plus it’s cool having a modern MMO-type game.

Even though it is created by Fun(Fail)com, I am also excited about The Secret World because of the creator (loved The Longest Journey series) and the genre/setting of the game. Plus it kind of defaults to that since we have heard nothing of the World of Darkness MMO in years.

Finally Guild Wars 2 is my pony. No subscription fees, persistent world, RvR-ish gameplay, and Public Quest-style events going zonewide in the style of Guild Wars. Sounds like a dream come true. I just wish ArenaNet would open their mouths about the game. They’ve been running so silent and deep for too long.

Leave a Reply

 
