Grinding to Valhalla

Interviewing the gamer with a thousand faces

Openedge1 (Chapter 3)

Posted by Randolph Carter on April 16, 2009

MMO community connection:

Dichotomy of the Gamers Blogosphere

Chapter 3: Online

Were you ever exposed to MUDs?

My first ever MuD was Nethack/Rogue. And this was quite brief. I had an Amiga with a 2600 baud modem. I also remember the extremely high phone bills after. I had my phone shut off after that period…lol.

What was your first MMO experience?

I usually call my access to NWN Persistent World my first taste, I played for about an hour or two, and thought I would never do this kind of stuff again. But, then I followed up when Guild Wars was released. This I consider my “true” entry due to the complete package. A huge guild, vent server, the whole nine yards.

If possible, list all the MMOs you’ve played extensively.

WoW. I am to old to have that much of a memory. I can tell you the extensive MMO’s. Guild Wars for around 2 years worth of play, WoW almost a year, LOTRO for almost a year (including Closed Beta 1 and 2) EQ2 was 8 months. Age of Conan is going on 6 months, Lineage 2 was 2 months, and the rest were always under 2 months. I can say I always was a spellcaster or healer…GW was on and off, but WoW was my first true all heal game. Age of Conan is the first game where I have totally loved melee classes, and play them extensively.

What is your current MMO of choice, or perhaps, what are your current MMOs of choice?

There is no doubt that Age of Conan has really shone for me, and made me realize that I may not like the High Fantasy games like WoW, LOTRO, etc. Guild Wars still calls me back once in a while, and Guild Wars 2 would have me totally!

Which MMO have you spent the most time playing? How long would you say that has been?

Guild Wars for sure. The fact it is free really makes it the easiest to return to.

Have you reached level cap in any MMO? If so, which ones?

NEVER. I may be unique in that. Age of Conan is looking to be the game for this to happen though.

Loki taps you on the shoulder one day to inform you that you have fallen victim to one of his elaborate pranks. The world you’ve been inhabiting of countless MMOs to choose from and play has merely been a dream. In reality only one MMO exists. After laughing at you for a bit he decides to take pity on you and allows you to choose which MMO will remain. Which one would you choose and why?

Guild Wars. If I was FORCED to choose. I mean, c’mon…FREE! oh, and way fun.

Are there any MMOs currently in development that you are particularly interested in? Please explain.

One hint….it has a G a W and a 2. ‘Nuff said.

Feel free to share an interesting or amusing anecdote related to your MMO gaming experience.

When my wife and I started in Guild Wars, we had one player who was slightly naive about the situation of the MMO’s. He could not comprehend that one player was maybe NOT a woman. When the woman kept making “guy like” remarks, and this friend kept giving “her” gold, we finally told him. When he confronted this “woman”, she quit the guild, and went on silence mode so we could not whisper… This was our first run in with this special “contingent”.

Leave a Reply

 
