Grinding to Valhalla

Interviewing the gamer with a thousand faces

Andras (Chapter 2)

Posted by Randolph Carter on March 30, 2009

MMO community connection:

Free Play Podcast 

Chapter 2: Origins

What kind of games (if any) did you play as a child before you got into video gaming? Did you play with family, friends or was it more of a solo activity?

I mostly played single player games as a hermit, but I did get Smash Bros. for the N64 and played with my sisters… And then they didn’t want to play with me after losing a few times with max handicap. Grrg.

What other hobbies and/or activities did you have as a child (sports, music, etc)?

I liked/like to run around in really big circles, also known as running Track and Cross Country. Listening to music, reading the odd book here and there. Oh, and I liked to play dress-up.

Were you ever exposed to pen and paper role playing games? What was that experience like?

I was exposed, but only recently, and it was filled with shenanigans and over-all silliness.

Did you read much as a child? If so, what did you like to read (books, comic books, etc?) Please list some favorite authors, titles, etc. 

I used to be big into Sci-Fi, some great works include anything by Micheal Crichton, The Last Book in the Universe, and any of the “classics”

Would you say that any of these games or books had an effect on your later appreciation of computer gaming and ultimately MMOs? Please explain.

In a sense, yes, but only in the idea that I enjoy sci-fi games. I think that has more to do with the technology aspect than any literature I enjoyed prior. They do give me slight pains when reading quest text, though.

How were you fist introduced to video games? How old were you? What was the platform?

A friend of mine at my old bus stop played the Game Boy Color, and when I saw the amazing potential of it, I had to have one. From there it careened into computer games, the playstation, the N64, and so on.

Did you ever play coin-op games at the arcade? What was that experience like?

I would try my hand at Smiles Entertainment Center, and I would spend seemingly endless amounts of allowance on the styling of House of the Dead. I think that’s what really got me into shooter games.

What was the first video game you can remember playing that really made an impression on you? Please explain.

That would most likely be Pokemon Blue. The impression it left wasn’t so much in the content, but in the ability it possessed to hold my attention. It was my first grinding experience.

What gaming consoles have you owned in the past?

Gameboy Color, Gameboy Advanced, Playstation, N64, Ninetendo Gamecube, Xbox, Xbox 360, Wii

Feel free to share a story related to your gaming experience as a child.

I played the Star Wars Dark Forces 2 game, and fell completely in love. I still consider it one of my top 15 games of all time.

Leave a Reply

 
