Grinding to Valhalla

Interviewing the gamer with a thousand faces

Darren (Chapter 2)

Posted by Randolph Carter on March 24, 2009

MMO community connection:
`

Chapter 2: Origins

What kind of games (if any) did you play as a child before you got into video gaming? Did you play with family, friends or was it more of a solo activity?

Back in the day, my friends and I use to play a game we just called “guns”. We’d go out in the small set of trees behind the school or just around the neighborhood and just pretend we were two opposing armies battling it out. Involved lots of running. You’ve all probably done it before. The game usually involved the conversation “I got you!”…”No…I got you first!!!” A lot of the games I played as a kid would probably get me put on some kind of program these days.

…oh…and we’d also play ball tag. In the dark. With a hard ball. Yeah….mental, I know.

What other hobbies and/or activities did you have as a child (sports, music, etc)?

Use to play baseball quite a bit.

Were you ever exposed to pen and paper role playing games? What was that experience like?

Oh yeah. Use to play it quite a bit in grade 7 and 8. Good times. The experience was ok…not earth shattering…but fun.

Did you read much as a child? If so, what did you like to read (books, comic books, etc?) Please list some favorite authors, titles, etc.

Read plenty. Choose Your Own Adventure and Comics where what I mostly read.

Would you say that any of these games or books had an effect on your later appreciation of computer gaming and ultimately MMOs? Please explain.

They probably helped with the imagination part of things. To me, they were just good entertainment.

How were you fist introduced to video games? How old were you? What was the platform?

This is kind of fuzzy. I can’t seem to recall if my first real gaming experience was on the C64 or a PET computer. More than likely, it was the PET.

Did you ever play coin-op games at the arcade? What was that experience like?

…but of course. Punch Out. I probably could have bought my own country for all the money I spent on that game.

What was the first video game you can remember playing that really made an impression on you? Please explain.

Karateka. Well…most of the C64 games made a HUGE impression on me. I think it was the C64 that made me a gamer.

What gaming consoles have you owned in the past?

NES, Atari 2600, ColecoVision

Feel free to share a story related to your gaming experience as a child.

…it’s all a blur involving fire, duct tape and peanut butter.

Leave a Reply

 
