Grinding to Valhalla

Interviewing the gamer with a thousand faces

One shot: Werit

Posted by Randolph Carter on September 22, 2009

MMO community connection:

Werit

Please take a minute and describe what your blog is about.

My blog is mostly about MMO’s but I tend to cover all types of games as well.

What was your introduction to MMOs and what was that experience like?

The first MMO I played was Neverwinter Nights on AOL. It was pretty exicitings as I prety much went from Nintendo/PC games to this multi-player world. It was also expensive, 5 hours a month is not enough time to play a MMO.

Can you recall that first MMO “wow!” moment?

My first “wow” moment was when I started playing MUSH’s (text based games). I came across a sci-fi game called Hemlock. There were no levels, you were whatever you wanted to be (roleplay). It had a realistic space system and economy which added meaning towards what you wanted to do.

At your peak, how much time per week would you say you spent playing? How about now?

At my peak, I would play 15 – 20 hours a week. Now I only get about 5 – 10 hours of playtime a week.

Do you tend to supplement your MMO gaming with other PC, console, or tabletop games?

I have the major consoles and play them whenever a game strikes my fancy.

When did you first start blogging? Would you mind taking us up to present with all of your projects?

I started blogging almost a year and a half ago. The upcoming release of Warhammer Online is what first drove me to start up a blog. Since then I’ve started to cover more than just Warhammer.

Do you see blogging as just a hobby or perhaps something more?

For me to is pretty much just a hobby and a form of communication.

Do you have a schedule or some sort of routine you try and follow when blogging?

I try to post once a day during the week. I take weekends off. Some people post more, some less. I find one a day keeps me from burning out.

Would you say there is some grind involved in blogging? If so, what is it and how do you tend to cope with it?

Grind? Not at all. If it was a grind I would not do it. I think the fact my blog is focused on games in general, rather than one particular game, really helps keep that grindy feeling away.

By contrast, what do you find pleasurable about blogging?

When I was younger and in school, me and my friends used to talk about games at recess. I think talking about games with people is a lot of fun. These days my offline friends don’t play games. Blogging allows me to talk about games again.

Would you care to share a particularly memorable moment from your blogging past?

The time I received a letter (you know, snail mail) from Warhammer Online that had to do with the upcoming event was pretty memorable. Getting involved with something you enjoy is a lot of fun.

Have you ever considered branching into podcasting?

I’ve done a guest stint and thought it was fun. In the future I hope to do more.

Are you pleased with how your blog has been received in the blogosphere?

Absolutely. I’ve met a ton of great people through the blog that I otherwise would not have.

If you had a chance to do it all over again, would you do anything different?

Not that I can think of.

What advice would you give someone who wanted to try their hand at blogging?

First, choose a name that will not force you into a narrow topic. You may like that game now, but who knows whether you will down the road. Second, don’t worry about visitor numbers. Blogging takes time and persistence. Finally, get involved the with greater blogging community.

Can you picture a future where you will hang up your keyboard and no longer blog?

Only if I run out of time.

You wake up to a world where you are the head of a company developing an MMO. You have unlimited funds and resources available to you. Please describe the kind of game you would make.

SWG sandbox/crafting + EvE economy/sovereignty + WAR accessibility

One Response to “One shot: Werit”

  1. [...] Werit [...]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

