Grinding to Valhalla

Interviewing the gamer with a thousand faces

One shot: Gordon

Posted by Randolph Carter on September 2, 2009

MMO community connection:

We Fly Spitfires

Please take a minute and describe what your blog is about.

My blog is about MMORPGs (Massively Multiplayer Online Roleplaying Games) in general. I don’t focus on any one game in particular but rather I try to blog about the genre as a whole and all the different aspects of it. Of course, the articles I write can be inspired by the MMOs I’m playing at that time, have played in the past or are looking forward to play in the future. My articles also vary from quick bits of fun to more in-depth thoughts about MMORPG design.

What was your introduction to MMOs and what was that experience like?

The first MMO I played was Everquest back in Spring of 1999 and I’ve been hooked on them ever since them. Even before I played EQ, I can remember being thrilled by articles I’d read about Ultima Online. Something about the idea of playing a game, particularly a RPG, in an online persistent world filled with thousands of people really captivated me.

Can you recall that first MMO “wow!” moment?

I’d certainly had many “wow” moments in MMOs but my first was undoubtedly the first time I ever logged into Everquest. I remember it quite vividly actually. I created an Eurdite Necromancer and I spent the first 30 minutes of playing just wandering around Erudin, soaking it all up. I bumped into my first other real player, typed “hello” and he said “hi” back with a wave. I was blown away! I had just met another real living person online!

At your peak, how much time per week would you say you spent playing? How about now?

At my peak I probably played about 8-10 hours day. Now I play about 8-10 hours a week.

Do you tend to supplement your MMO gaming with other PC, console, or tabletop games?

Yep. I occasionally play other single player PC games although I tend to keep my PC just for MMOs and I’ve also got a PS3 which I play quite regularly. I’ve got a PSP and a Nintendo DS too but they barely see the light of day now – they just don’t seem to have any decent games.

When did you first start blogging? Would you mind taking us up to present with all of your projects?

I started blogging on Christmas Day 2008 (much to the chagrin of my wife) and have been regularly writing ever since then. What can I say – I love it and I’m hooked. I couldn’t really say that I’ve had any “projects” with it, well maybe apart from revamping my blog design. When I first started my blog it was just using a very basic black and white WordPress theme and since then a friend of mine has been helping me out by designing a new theme for the site. It’s an ongoing process and we’re continually trying to improve the site to make it more attractive and useable.

Do you see blogging as just a hobby or perhaps something more?

Much like many other bloggers I’d love to be able to make a living out of writing – whether that’s through my blog, writing for other sites or magazines or as a novelist. Still, I’m very realistic about the chances of that sort of thing happening. Very few bloggers are able to generate income from their blog and MMORPGs are such a niche topic, I’m not even sure it’s even possible. So ultimately I just see it as a hobby.

Do you have a schedule or some sort of routine you try and follow when blogging?

I try to blog once a day although I don’t hold myself at gunpoint to it. Sometimes I’m just too busy or I’m not at home so it’s not possible. Usually though I write and publish at article in the evening around 9pm or 10pm GMT on weekdays and in the late mornings on weekends. I love weekends because they give me a real chance to spend a long time thinking over my articles whilst during the week I can be a little rushed.

Would you say there is some grind involved in blogging? If so, what is it and how do you tend to cope with it?

There is nothing about blogging I see as a grind. I think if any blogger does see it as a grind, then they probably shouldn’t be doing it.

By contrast, what do you find pleasurable about blogging?

Everything. I love writing, plain and simple. It’s a chance for me to be creative and unleash all of the thoughts I have bouncing around in my head. Since I’ve started blogging, I’ve learnt so much about myself and my mind and it’s been a brilliant experience. Of course, I also love getting feedback to my articles. It’s incredibly rewarding when people comment on my posts and chip in with their thoughts or use my post as a basis for one of their own articles. That sharing of ideas is what blogging’s all about.

Would you care to share a particularly memorable moment from your blogging past?

Probably the first time someone commented on my blog. I was so delighted that someone actually liked my stuff enough to take the time to write a comment and respond. It was a great feeling.

Have you ever considered branching into podcasting?

I’ve thought about it and I’m sure I’ll give it a go at some point but right now my passion lies in the written word.

Are you pleased with how your blog has been received in the blogosphere?

Very. It’s incredible to think that 9 months ago my blog didn’t exist and now it’s gaining popularity and being read by hundreds of people every day. I’ve also found a great pleasure in engaging with my fellow bloggers and I’ve had a huge amount of fun and intellectual stimulation by commenting on their blogs and reflecting on their posts. Also almost everyone is very friendly and willing to recognize your blog so long as you can prove you’re serious about it and have something interesting to contribute.

If you had a chance to do it all over again, would you do anything different?

Nope :)

What advice would you give someone who wanted to try their hand at blogging?

If you love writing and have ideas popping out of your head every day, then go for it and don’t let anything hold you back. You don’t need design skills or web servers, just open an account with WordPress and start blogging! Of course, on the other hand, if you don’t have a true love for your subject material then I’d say don’t bother. You need to honestly love blogging about your chosen topic, otherwise it’s just a waste of time.

Can you picture a future where you will hang up your keyboard and no longer blog?

I don’t think I can now. It’s odd because I’m relatively new to blogging yet it’s consumed me so much. I think about what I’m going to blog about when I go to bed at night and it’s the first thing I think about when I wake up in the morning. I think about it at lunch time and when walking home from work. It’s such a huge part of my life now and gives me so much pleasure, I don’t think I could ever stop.

You wake up to a world where you are the head of a company developing an MMO. You have unlimited funds and resources available to you. Please describe the kind of game you would make.

Oh that’s easy! ZOMBIES!

2 Responses to “One shot: Gordon”

  1. [...] interview with him. Being the egocentric chap that I am, I of course jumped at the chance! You can check out the interview here if you fancy discovering a bit more about me and deleving into my inner… Don’t worry, I promise I’m not just a total chauvinist who comes up with crazy theories [...]

  2. [...] Gordon [...]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

