Grinding to Valhalla

Interviewing the gamer with a thousand faces

Raegn

Posted by Randolph Carter on April 13, 2009

MMO community connection:

Fires of War

Chapter 1: Introduction

What is your name (your online persona/alter-ego, what have you)?

My online alias is Raegn, pronounced like “reign.” It was a carry over from an old character I had in an RPPVP guild in WoW. If you find me in a vent channel sometime, you’ll probably hear me referred to as Raegan. It goes with the territory I guess :-) My real name is Chris.

What is your connection to the gaming/blogging/podcasting community (your chance to plug yourself here)?

I run an MMORPG blog called Fires of War where I talk about anything and everything that piques my interest in the MMOsphere.

Please take a minute and describe what your blog/podcast is about.

I started the blog in August of 2008 on an exclusively WAR platform but after a few months I decided to expand my scope. Since then, I’ve focused on WoW, WAR, Vanguard, LotRO, and most recently Darkfall Online. Day to day, I share my adventures and opinions on whatever world I may be adventuring in. My big achievement thus far has been to land an interview with Paul Barnett of Mythic Entertainment and Warhammer Online’s creative director.

Where were you born? Where did you grow up?

I was born in a tiny little town in Western New York midway between Buffalo and Rochester. I grew up in a nearby town that had a total population of about 2,000 people. We used to joke that there were more cows than people. There wasn’t much to do around town, which is probably why so many of us turned into gamers.

Where do you live now?

Nowadays, I live about 5 minutes outside of Rochester. I go to school at SUNY Brockport, which is nearby.

Your level (age) is somewhere in the range of (pick one): 10-20, 21-30, 31-40, 41-50, 51-60, 61-70, 71-80, 81-90

21-30

What do you do for a living?

I make my living as a Telephone Banker for WaMu (now Chase) on the weekends. During the week, I’m a student teacher which, unfortunately, doesn’t pay. When I’m done with school in December, I’ll be certified to teach elementary school which is my ultimate goal. Sometime down the line maybe I’ll be a principal. Sweet gig, school administration.

If you could reroll your career, what would you be?

Oh, probably a musician. I’ve played guitar for over 10 years, so it’d be a natural move. If it wasn’t for college, I’d still be with my band creating music. Somehow, I think my future will be a little more stable this route though… Still, the art of creating music with other people has always been a passion of mine. I write my own but it’s not the same as melding your creativity with that of others.

List five random things most people don’t know about you.

  • I *love* Coheed and Cambria
  • Unlike many, I loved Adam Sandler’s movie “Click”
  • I’m the first of my generation to graduate from college and attain a degree on one side of my family
  • I have a horrible tendency to dent my cars during the winter :-(
  • I absolutely hate shorthand typing. It’s one of my biggest pet peeves

Feel free to discuss any family you have here.

Well, I’m engaged to be married on June 20th, so I have a fiancee. Apart from that, I’m the oldest of three kids. I have a 16 year old brother and an 12 year old sister who just got her first boyfriend (she’s too young damn it!). I have two cats but only because my landlord won’t let us have a dog too. My mom and dad split up when I was about a year old, so I’m lucky enough to have three families with more members than I can count. It makes holidays difficult but a lot of fun too.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

